Social Media

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterCheck Our Feed

Chakra – A Brief Guide

This article is written according to metaphysical thought. Many people are familiar with the concept of chakra. It’s an ancient Indian philosophy and relates to how your conscious and subconscious mind interacts with your physical body. The word Chakra essential means a wheel. According to this belief, all physical or mental disturbances are caused by the energy flow of your body being blocked by one of seven chakras. Here’s a brief guide to all the seven chakra points that exist within the body.

Muladhara or Root Chakra

When you sit in the Indian position your legs folded before you, your root is directly in contact with the Earth. Therefore, this chakra anchors and connects you to the Earth. Root chakra is located in your pelvic floor around your tailbone area. This chakra keeps you grounded in reality and in the now. It guides most of your instinctual urges like eating, sleeping, sex, and the basic survival. 

Svadishthana or Pelvic Chakra

This chakra is located at your sacrum, which houses your reproductive organs. This is the center of all sexual desires as well as an area that promotes self-improvement. When your energy moves freely through this chakra, you experience a surge of self-healing power and derive more sensual pleasure. When this chakra is blocked, you don’t receive as such pleasure and would remain unsatisfied. Because of this, you may be more attached to your earthly desires than you should be. 

Manipura or Navel Chakra

This chakra is the core of your body; it’s the energy-producing center. The chakra corresponds to the element of fire. It’s also the power center and drives your purpose and determination. When your consciousness and energy moves uninterrupted from this center, you experience a surge of energy and vitality. 

Anahata or Heart Chakra

Unsurprisingly, this is the most powerful chakra in your body because this is where the soul resides. This particular chakra corresponds with the element of air, with the lungs present in the same location. Naturally, this chakra governs your emotions and your connection with the spiritual realm. This is where you can best establish your connect to the divine. 

Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra

This is the chakra of expression through speech and governs hearing as well. So if you open it, your entire body and the chakras underneath this body work smoothly. Some say it’s also a gate to converse with the divine.

Ajna or Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is located between your brows on your forehead and is considered to be the center of thought. It’s the command center that is a convergence of the mind and the body. If your consciousness flows smoothly through this center, you experience clarity of thought and a higher level of self-awareness and intuition.

Sahasrara or Crown Center Chakra

This is our connection with the metaphysical or the spiritual. This chakra is indifferent to your physical needs and desires. It’ll connect you to a higher level of consciousness and leads you towards enlightenment.