Social Media

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterCheck Our Feed

A Guide to the Chakra System: Understanding the Sacral Chakra

Sacral chakra

The chakra system is made up of seven points of internal energy throughout the body. Understanding and connecting with your chakras can help you deepen your spirituality and encourages a more profound relationship with the self.

Let’s explore the sacral chakra’s relation to our spirituality, and some ways we can work toward achieving a more balanced sacral chakra.

Note: This article is written according to the principles of metaphysics.

What is the Sacral Chakra?

The sacral chakra is said to be the energy point most connected with our sense of pleasure, creativity, and euphoria. In Sanskrit, the sacral chakra is known as “Svadhishthana,” which can be interpreted as an individual’s “self place.” This definition points to the sacral chakra’s importance to our self-identity as well as our connection to others.

Sacral chakra symbol

The sacral chakra is conceived as a vibrant orange circle with six petals and is closely associated with warmth and spirituality. According to metaphysical maps of the chakra system, the sacral chakra is the second in the chakra system, located above the root chakra.

Svadhishthana is relative to the lower lumbar area of the back, or the lower stomach, and can extend to the sexual organs—connecting the sacral chakra to intimacy and sexual expression.

Besides playing a role in our expressions of sexuality, the sacral chakra is associated with relationships— platonic or intimate, creative expression, spirituality, and identity. If you’re eating an exceptional meal, touching a superbly soft textile, or experiencing a breathtaking view, your sacral chakra may also be activated during these pleasurable activities.

For further context, the chakra system refers to the following points of energy and associated colors:

  • Red – Root Chakra or Muladhara chakra.
  • Orange – Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana chakra.
  • Yellow – Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura chakra.
  • Green – Heart Chakra or Anahata chakra.
  • Blue – Throat Chakra or Vishuddha chakra.
  • Indigo – Third Eye Chakra or Anja chakra.
  • Violet – Crown Chakra or Sahaswara chakra.

Individuals who maintain a balanced sacral chakra may be described as independent, self-aware, confident, and relatable. Self-assurance and confidence help us establish meaningful relationships which can have a positive impact on how we interact with the rest of the world and ourselves. These attributes are reflected by a healthy sacral chakra.

Closely associated with the concept of chakras is the metaphysical theory of auras. Chakras and auras are both connected to spiritual energy, but it’s important to note that chakras are associated with internal energy, whereas auras are associated with the body’s output of energy or energy field.

Sacral Chakra Problems

Sacral chakra imbalance

As with any of our seven chakras, the sacral chakra’s balance can be thrown off and negatively affect other internal energies. Practicing sacral chakra healing may help address disconnectedness and imbalance in your chakra system.
Blocked or Imbalanced Sacral Chakra Characteristics

The stresses of life may impact our chakras and manifest differently in different individuals. Since the sacral chakra is often related to our sense of sexuality and connection with others, a blocked or imbalanced sacral chakra is commonly associated with:

  • A lack of self confidence.
  • Unbalanced expression of intimacy.
  • Inability to pivot from negative energies.

Note that these characteristics are specific to the individual, so sometimes those with an overactive sacral chakra may experience counteracting spiritual characteristics.

Sacral Chakra Healing

There are many ways spiritual people can address an imbalanced sacral chakra. Determining what works best for you may mean trying a mix of activities, or sticking to one practice for an extended amount of time. Each person’s energy works differently, so consider doing some experimenting with sacral chakra healing to see what works for you.

Explore Your Creative Side

If you’ve been dealing with a creative blockage, you may need to re-explore your creative side with new mediums to activate your creative energy.

Sacral chakra

Whether you return to unfinished projects, or try something new, here are some creative activities that may help you activate your creative side, and balance your sacral chakra:

  • Go to a new place and draw what you see.
  • Try your hand at pottery, and gift your piece to a loved one.
  • Learn a new creative skill by following along with a video tutorial.
  • Craft a piece of jewelry for yourself using your favorite materials as a reminder to express your creative energy.

Practice Body Positivity

Practicing positive affirmations about your body can help some achieve a stronger sense of confidence and worth— and could impact how you connect with others intimately. Try these body positive techniques to work toward a more balanced chakra and an improved sense of self:

  • Focus on your body’s “health” rather than appearance.
  • Keep a list of ten things you love about yourself, and remind yourself of these weekly, or daily.
  • Surround yourself with others who promote self-love.
  • Explore Your Romantic Side

Our sacral chakra is commonly associated with intimate expression. We may consider practicing sacral chakra healing as one way to promote a more fulfilling romantic life. Whether you have a partner or not, exploring different forms of pleasure or indulging in unexplored fantasies with your partner, may give you a new sense of adventure and realign your sacral chakra.

Practicing Sacral Chakra Yoga Poses

Practicing specific yoga poses can help open the sacral chakra and realign your chakras. Try these sacral chakra yoga poses to ignite your sacral chakra’s energy.

Sacral chakra

Foods That Promote a Balanced Sacral Chakra

Honoring our body with healthy foods is one way we can work toward chakra harmony. Some chakra-healing foods that may promote sacral chakra balance in particular include:

  • Ginger root
  • Ginger tea
  • Orange foods such as carrots, orange peppers, and sweet potatoes
  • Nuts and seeds

Sacral chakra foods

What Does a Balanced Sacral Chakra Look Like?

Each person expresses their chakra energy differently so the concepts of “balance” and “imbalance” are relative terms. For example, some individuals express their sexual energy very openly, while others do not. This doesn’t necessarily mean one person has a healthier sacral chakra than the other. However, practicing chakra healing may initiate benefits for both ends of the spectrum, and could help balance your chakra system’s energy.

Some characteristics of a balanced sacral chakra can include:

  • Ability to “tune in” to people and situations and respond logically.
  • Maintaining a healthy intimacy with self and others.
  • Self-assurance.
  • Satisfaction with creative expression.
  • Contentedness.
  • An empowering sense of self-confidence and ability

Practicing sacral chakra healing can help individuals achieve a higher sense of spirituality and most importantly, experience a profound connection with his or her innermost self.